EX5: Texture Generation

Example 1: Dice

This was to practice texture generation, we started by generating a cube primitive in Maya and then porting the UV map into Photoshop.

coobe

Here we added the colours and features a regular die would have, to help it resemble one closely.

coooobe done.png

Afterwards, I ported the newly finished texture back to Maya, and wrapped it around the cube primitive, resulting in this:

dice textured.PNG

 

Example 2: Credit Card

To create this, I first used a plane primitive to get the flat shape I wanted. I then created a UV map and then afterwards a UV snapshot for use in Photoshop.

uv snapshot

I based the design and cardholder name on a character from the ‘Life is Strange’ series, and then created a bump map for this text, to resemble the bumpy text you’d see on physical credit cards.

mamax.png

I then got to create a colour map for the model, and then began adding text to the card using a bump map, and after adding some smaller details in Photoshop (like the card chip).

janeAfter I imported everything into the Maya project, and was left with this result.

creedeet-kurt

Later on, I decided to add a specular map, so the card will shine in some areas, just like a real one would.

In a similar way that I made the bump map, I ported the UV to photoshop, and highlighted where I wanted the shines to be.

spec1.png

And I was left with this final result.

spec2.png

Example 3: Thor Hammer

Carrying on with the Thor Hammer from our last exercise, I decided to texture this with the UV I have already worked on, and wanted to make it look more like the hammer we see in the films. To do this, I acquired these two textures and decided to work them into photoshop.

First I UV snapshot the UV map for the hammer head, and brought it into photoshop, where I then begin to plaster the texture repeatedly over the UV.

Leaving my model to look like this:

otherhammerhead.png

After this, I decide to texture the handle of the hammer, so I then snapshot the UV for the handle, and bring it into Photoshop, to then place the textures over, as this UV also covered part of the head, I had to make use of both textures.

Which then left me with this desired effect.

handle3

Example 4: Mushrooms

Like the others, I went to the UV for my mushroom and snapshot it to import into Photoshop, and from here, I decided to paint my own texture as I could not find a texture that fitted, plus it fit well as a cartoony art style I wanted for them.

After doing the same for the next two mushrooms, I then exported them and applied the textures to the models, leaving me with this result.

mushy1

Example 5: Dinner set

Like the UV’ing, I decided to then texture both the knife and the plate from my dinner set exercise.
Starting with the plate, I snapshot the UV and imported it over to Photoshop. And then looked up an image to use as the plate design, I went with a quirky cat design to place onto the plate.

 

Along with painting whats leftover, I dragged the image over the top of the plate on my UV in Photoshop.

platey2

I was then left with this design, and quickly exported it over to then assign as a new material on my model.

platey3

After this, I then snapshot my knife’s UV to texture in Photoshop, and went with a much simpler design, and got a shiny metal texture from Google.

Shiny Metal Textures HD Photos

And pasted it on over my knife UV.

Then exported it to apply on my model, leaving me with this desired effect.

cat.png

I paired it along with a wine glass I placed a ‘SolidGlass’ texture over.

Example 6: Pine Tree

I check to make sure the model works with the checkerboard texture, and then I import the UV snapshot to photoshop to begin creating the texture. For this I wanted to create a cartoonish colour style for the pine tree, and messed around a little for the tree stump texture also. This was my process:

tree4

tree5

I then take the texture, export it, and then apply it to my model after getting rid of the checkerboard texture. Leaving me with this result.

tree6tree7

 

Leave a Reply

