EX4: 2D Walk Cycle

In today’s lesson we learned more about the principles of animation to follow on from the last, and we were tasked with following a simple, but accurate walk cycle to demonstrate what we learned. We must define the key poses (beginning, middle and end) then work on the in-betweens to create a more smooth transition when playing.

walkacyle
Here is a resource of a walk cycle break down I used as reference for my animation. A basic (bipedal) walkcycle will have two contact points, as demonstrated above and in my animation. The head and waist move in sync and keep in flow with each other, and go across the line to demonstrate momentum as the subject walks. The arm must always be opposite the corresponding leg when taking steps to keep it as realistic as possible.

Making the walkcycle:

First I drew two straight lines, the bottom being for the matching up the contact points, and the first to calculate the head movements. I then drew the two contact points with my tablet, and then added the passing pose in the middle of them and used all three as keyframes. After this I drew the down pose and up pose to go in between to help the animation look more fluid.

Here we can see how it looked in my workspace along with the onionskin on, we can see how I used the lines to track movement and keep it in order with itself. I then added the ground to make it look that bit more appealing in motion. With the guiding lines we’re left with this result.

walk1

After removing the lines, it looks like this:

walk2

As my first attempt, I feel pretty proud, but I can see where I’ve made mistakes after rendering, and know it needs clean up in some frames too. But I have a much better understanding of how these principles are put to use in animation and can pinpoint when they are used too, these are vital to understanding animation.

Leave a Reply

